Find information about what we’ve done in the last several seasons, including operas, master works, symphonies, and contemporary music.

Historical Highlights of the Lethbridge Symphony

The Symphony’s 57th Season, and Glenn Klassen’s 15th as Music Director, kicks off with Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony; a milestone piece for any orchestra – even a fully professional ensemble – our musicians more than rise to the occasion.

The Symphony takes over the production reigns for Feel the Beat from the University of Lethbridge Conservatory of Music. Norbert Boehm celebrates his 40th Season as concertmaster; Melanie Gattiker becomes Executive Director.

The 55th Season of the Lethbridge Symphony closes with a bang: Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana involves more than 300 orchestra musicians and choristers from the community, including Vox Musica, for two sold out performances.

The Lethbridge Symphony’s first dance collaboration is presented in May with the Troyanda Ukrainian Dance Ensemble, and three sold out performances of Les Misérables are presented to enthusiastic audiences in time for Christmas. Arts administrator David Shefsiek joins the organisation Symphony as interim executive director through the 2014-15 Season.

In collaboration with the University of Lethbridge Opera Workshop and Vox Musica, the Lethbridge Symphony warmed the chilly month of February with a fully-staged production of WA Mozart’s The Magic Flute, sung in English.

The Lethbridge Symphony celebrated 50 years of music.

The Lethbridge Symphony completed a comprehensive rebranding in anticipation of its banner 50th Season.

The 10th Anniversary of the popular Broadway Musical collaboration between directors Fran Rude and Ken Rogers, and the Lethbridge Symphony Orchestra. The Symphony moved from the Yates Memorial Theatre to Southminster Church to accommodate a growing audience.

In August, the orchestra shared the stage with country rock band Doc Walker for its second annual Symphony on the Green.

Glenn Klassen was appointed Music Director of the Lethbridge Symphony.

2002 & 2003
As part of the Crowsnest Pass Rum Runner Days held every July, the LSO performed Music on the Mountain at the Pass Powder Keg Ski Resort.

Our 40th Anniversary Season opened with a Master Series concert in memory of Albert Rodnunsky. In May, we launched our annual Kids Choir, providing area elementary school choirs the opportunity to perform with symphonic accompaniment by members of the orchestra.

1998 & 2000
Music at the McIntyre, August afternoon concerts featuring the LSO and other area musical groups were presented at the beautiful McIntyre Ranch near Magrath, AB.

Claude Lapalme joined the LSO as Music Director.

The inaugural Lethbridge Symphony Young Artist Competition was organized as part of our 25th Anniversary Season.

Music Director Stewart Grant’s tenure began and included the formation of a core of resident professional string players now known as Musaeus, the Southern Alberta Chamber Orchestra, the creation of a Chamber Recital Series sponsored by the duMaurier Council for the Arts, and the Music for a Sunday Afternoon Series at the Southern Alberta Art Gallery.

Professor JP Christopher Jackson became interim conductor and urged the engagement of a resident Music Director. Norbert Boehm succeeded Dr Clifford Palmer as Concertmaster.

The Lethbridge String Instrument program was launched with the support of Alberta Culture, the local school boards, and the Kiwanis Club of Lethbridge. As part of this effort, professional violinist Norbert Boehm was hired, and the program was established at the Grade 1 level, using the Suzuki method.

Professor Lucien Needham took over the baton. The Symphony offered a Season format, including the Annual Family Concert, and introduced run-out performances to the surrounding communities.

The Symphony Women’s League (SWL) was started to support the orchestra in various ways, including fundraising. Mr Rodnunsky assembled the Lethbridge Symphony Chorus, which lasted 15 years; its first chorusmaster was Tom Lavers.

The Lethbridge Symphony was formed. Albert Rodnunsky served as its first conductor and Dr B Wayne Matkin served as its first president.