Lethbridge Symphony Biennial Young Artist CompetitionFor over 30 years, the Lethbridge Symphony has provided talented young musicians from across Alberta a unique biennial opportunity to perform in competition for our supportive audiences. The Young Artist Competition was started in 1985 through the generosity of the Helen Johnson Memorial Fund, and the winner receives an invitation to play as a guest soloist with the Lethbridge Symphony Orchestra in the next concert season, as well as a generous cash prize provided by Mark & Bev Bellamy.

Past winners include Isabella d’Éloize Perron, violin (2015); Eleanor Yu, violin (2013); Matt Groenheide, percussion (2011); Matthew Blackburn, piano (2009); Emma Parkinson, soprano (2007); Graeme Roset, piano (2005); Magdalena von Eccher, piano (2003); and Marlie Grant, horn (2001).

Special thanks to our sponsors
Mark & Bev Bellamy and the Helen Johnson Memorial Fund

To learn more about this program, visit the event page or contact your Lethbridge Symphony for more information.